Fruits of Faith (Agape Singers) – The Lord is My Sheperd

Usually, I wouldn’t buy choir gospel records but when trolling through southern Washington thrift stores a guy can get desperate. A private gospel record looks pretty appealing amongst the total crap that is Longview thrift stores. This record isn’t very good but on its last chance listen the second track on side one stuck out. I Think of God either sounds very similar to Summertime or is a gospel version/cover. Either way I’m kind of a sucker for that spooky organ sound. It’s hard to find out stuff about these kind of records since google searches tend to be often unhelpful since there is dozens of Agape Singers out there and none of them are this one. This record was released in 1976 and profits were to benefit the Fruits of Faith Foundation which doesn’t exist on the internet either. The group was led by Mrs. Juanita Lawson Brown. One would guess that a private label endeavor like this would probably be somewhat local but who knows. Picture coming soon.

I Think of God

Price: $0.50-$1
Location: Longview

6 Responses to Fruits of Faith (Agape Singers) – The Lord is My Sheperd

  1. Quibbles McReach says:

    have you noticed that it’s very easy to evoke the sound of tablas with your mouth? try it at home!
    bong-ch-ch; ch-bong-bong-ch-ch-bong-ch-ch-bong-ch-ch; ch-bong-bong-ch-ch-bong-ch-ch-bong-ch-ch; ch-bong-bong-ch-ch-bong-ch-ch; ch-bong-bong-ch-ch-bong-ch-ch

  2. joan says:

    I am the person who wrote the lyrics and music for “I Think of God” and I am also the vocalist. If you are still interested in knowing the origins, etc of the group, The Agape Singers, do email me and I will be happy to address any questions you may have.

    Joan

  3. Pee says:

    Beautiful!

    I would love to hear/buy the record ‘Jesus Forever”

    • Joan says:

      Jesus Forever is a great song and the album is a good one. Have no idea where you can find it anymore. May have some luck with ebay. I’ll look around and if I can locate one will contact you.

  4. joan says:

    Hi Shirley, I do remember you, and your brother, Albert. We live in Atlanta, and have been here for almost 30 years. If you would like to get in touch call this #: 404-295-3558. Great hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

